Is demanding a personal injury claim, such as a work accident claim, easy or hard?

If you listen to law group advertisers, then the answer is “Yes, incredibly so.” If, however, you listen to bitter claimants, then the answer is “No, it’s impossible.” The right answer, and one which I can validate with my own experience is somewhere in between these two extremes.

I was involved in a car crash a few months ago while driving out of London one night. Some teenagers, who later turned out to be drunk drivers, lost control of their green van and plummeted it straight at the back of my SUV. Although I received no injury worse than a minor whiplash, I still got in touch with a car accident lawyer and demanded compensation. I was not in want of money for medication or anything. I just wanted to teach these immature and irresponsible teenagers some lesson.

My claim did not last for a long while at all. In fact, after only a few weeks, my lawyer was able to persuade those teenagers to compensate me immediately because they could be made to pay me more if ever the case gets blown into a full-court dispute. Their parents paid off my claim, but I’m sure those kids won’t be driving anytime soon.

What I discovered after claiming compensation, nevertheless, was that it can be a quick and easy process, provided that you are really in the right. My lawyer was practically smacking his lips when I told him the details of my case. I assume it was because he knew that what was in front of him was easy pickings. Furthermore, lawyers are busy people too. It is not in their interest to prolong a case, whether it be a whiplash injury case like mine or a work accident claim like yours, because the more time they spend languishing in one case, then the more time they are wasting in waiving the chance to embrace a new case with its generous acceptance fee. I can only shrug when people consistently berate lawyers for their idleness or ineptitude. It is not really up to them whether or not their cases get finished quickly or not. It is up to the facts of the case itself.




Leave a Reply.